The annual adult writing contest sponsored by the NFB Writers’ Division, opens January 1st, and closes April 1st.

NEW THIS YEAR: 2015, being the Federation’s 75th birthday, the contest will for the first time ever, have a required theme. All submissions will need to somehow incorporate the theme of 75. It does not have to be necessarily about the anniversary of NFB. It could just be the number 75, or perhaps the diamond anniversary, or 75 steps to your destination, or even 75 balloons. Thinking of past entries, 75 aliens would work. Seriously, let your imagination take over. Write the piece you want, just remember to incorporate the theme of 75; this is inspired by the 75 years of the great work that has been happening within, and because of the National Federation of the Blind.

The categories are: poetry, fiction, non-fiction, and stories for youth. The contest is open to all entrants eighteen, or older.

All contest winners will be announced during the first week of July, at the Writers’ Division’s business meeting, as part of the NFB national convention to be held in Orlando, Florida; the winners will also appear on this website.

In each contest category, there may be up to three prize winners (1st 2nd, 3rd) and one or more receiving honorable mention. Additionally, a prize winning entry may be published within the Writers’ Division’s magazine, Slate & Style. Finally, each winning piece will be included in our yearly anthology of winners, with all entrants receiving an electronic copy.


*Adult contest winners will receive $100 for 1st place, $50 for 2nd place, and $25 for 3rd place.
*If a contest winning piece is chosen to be published within Slate & Style, the author will receive complimentary electronic copies of the issue in which their work appears.


*We will consider only unpublished original entries.
*Fiction short stories can be of any main stream genre, and cannot exceed 3,000 words.
*Non-fiction entries should be either a memoir or personal essay, and cannot exceed 3,000 words.
*Stories for youth, are stories with content written at an intellectual level appropriate for the younger reader, and cannot exceed 3,000 words.
*Poetry – NEW THIS YEAR: We will accept poetry of any length (prior, the limit was 36 lines per poem).
*Authors of either poetry and/or prose are encouraged to submit multiple pieces.


*Adults are required to submit all poetry, fiction, non-fiction, and stories for youth entries as attachments to an E-mail message.
*The attachments must be in either Microsoft Word (doc) or Rich Text Format (rtf).
*Fiction, non-fiction and stories for youth should be written in a normal prose style, with paragraphs being left justified, lines are single spaced, and having a 14 point font of Aerial, regular.
*No hard copy submissions will be accepted.


Along with your entry or entries, include a cover letter providing the following:
*Your name, mailing address, phone number, and e-mail address.
*List the titles of all submissions, including the category in which they are being entered.
*State your method of payment for the entry fee (check or PayPal).
*Finally, the cover letter could be your e-mail message, or a separate document attached along with your submissions.


*$6.00 is the fee for each short story, non-fiction piece, or story for youth. *$6.00 is the base fee for poetry; read the following examples carefully: $6.00 will cover up to three poems, if the combined line-count of all three pieces does not exceed 108 lines - additional poems require a second fee of $6,00, following the same fee payment scheme. Accordingly, a $6.00 fee is required for a single poem of more than 108 lines; submit as many of these longer pieces, following the same payment scheme.

*You may use PayPal from the Writers’ Division website, http://writers.nfb.org
*Alternatively, you may mail a check made out to NFB Writers’ Division, with a note in the memo line relating to the contest.
*E-mail submissions should be sent to EvaMarie Sanchez at: thirdeyeonlyinaz@gmail.com
*Checks should be mailed to:

Come back for the address to be used for the 2016 contest.

*If you have questions, use this link to contact EvaMarie Sanchez president of the Writers’ Division.

Back to Contest Page

Home Page